Lay Preachers Assoc. 2016 Annual Conference


Friday, 15 April
7pm: Conference opening worship – led by Rev Joan Fisher, Rev Margaret Blair, Preacher and installation of new President LouAnne Stabb by Moderator Dan Wootton
8.15pm: Session 1 Rev Joan Fisher

Saturday, April 16
9am: Registration
9.30am: Morning worship & welcome
9.45am: Session 2 Rev Dr Avril Hannah-Jones
11am: Morning tea
11.30am: Session 3 Cheryl Lawrie
12.45pm: Lunch
1.15pm: Session 4 Jill Ruzbacky
2.30pm: Break
3pm: Annual General Meeting
4pm: Closing


Rev Joan Fisher Retired UCA minister and recent Ecumenical Accompaniment program in Palestine and Israel participant considering The Holy Land – ancient stones & living stones.’
Rev Dr Avril Hannah Jones  – Currently minister at Williamstown UCA, Avril will speak on ‘Using your passions in worship’.
Cheryl Lawrie  –  Accredited Youth Worker with Synod of Victoria and Tasmania
Jill Ruzbacky – Social Justice Officer with Synod Justice and International Mission unit


Who may attend?  Lay preachers, candidates, other worship leaders and interested people
Cost $28, to be paid in cash or cheque on the day; includes lunch and refreshments
Parking  There is metered street parking nearby
Annual General Meeting  The Annual General Meeting of the Lay Preachers’ Association of Victoria and Tasmania will follow on from the conference program, running from 3-4pm on Saturday, 16 April. All Lay Preachers may vote; others are welcome to attend the meeting. The agenda includes the election of the Association’s office-bearers for 2016. Nominations may be submitted only by Lay Preachers, on the form provided.

Download the conference flyer and registration form by clicking here (Word .docx file)

7:00pm – 4:00pm
Friday, 15 Apr 2016 – Saturday, 16 Apr 2016
The Centre for Theology & Ministry
29 College Cres., Parkville VIC 3052
Alastair Davison; (03) 9844 3036