Lay Preachers’ Association

Resource area for the LPA of Vic-Tas


The Synod Lay Preachers’ Association supports and encourages the ministry of Lay Preachers through mutual help and spiritual encouragement, communication, continuing education and other events. The ministry of Lay Preachers contributes to the Church’s mission of encouraging and enabling people in congregations and communities to discover, accept and express the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

The Members of the Association are all the accredited or recognised Lay Preachers within the Synod; Lay Preacher Candidates are Associate Members. Members elect Officers at the Annual Conference, and commission the Committee of Management, in order to carry out the responsibilities of the Association.

If you have any queries regarding the Lay Preachers’ Association of Victoria and Tasmania please contact the President of the Committee of Management.

Recent Events

Lay Preachers’ Association Lay Education Day 4 August 2018

Useful Documents

You’ll find that the Lay Ministries section of our website contains plenty of useful documents relevant to members of the LPA. In particular, ‘Called to Preach’, and the ‘Lay Preacher Continuing Education Forms’ on this page are highly relevant so please take the time to read these documents.

Witness Newsletters

Witness is the Journal of the Lay Preachers’ Association, Synod of Victoria and Tasmania. Download a copy of the LPA’s Witness newsletter.

Education and Formation for Lay Preachers

Standards for Formation and Education for the Specified Ministry of Lay Preacher were approved in 2016, and are available from the Uniting Church Assembly website.

Download a booklet exploring the five aspects of formation for ministry by Lay Preachers by Rev Dr Christine Sorensen.

Continuing Education for Lay Preachers enriches this significant ministry: the Lay Preachers’ Association awards a Certificate of Continuing Education based on a sliding scale of a wide range of educational activities. Download the application form including guidelines: Continuing Education Application Form – May 2018

Committee of Management

President 2016 – 2018
Ms LouAnne Stabb
3 Chifley Street, WODONGA, 3690
Phone: 02 6059 2244 | Email LouAnne

Heather Cowled
7 Marys Hope Road, Rosetta, Tas  7010
Phone: 03 6272 3096 Email Heather

Mr Robert Lees
8 Elizabeth Street, Echuca, Vic 3564
Phone:03 5482 1599 | 0407 349 101 | Email Robert

President Elect
Bruce Hill | Email Bruce

Past President
Mr Alastair Davison
103 Pound Rd, WARRANDYTE, 3113
Phone: 03 9844 3036 | Email Alastair

Witness Editor
Ms Mandy Stark
5 Nioka Crt, Park Orchards, 3144,
Phone: 0419 837 991 | Email Mandy

Presbytery Representatives
Gippsland: Peter Morris – 03 5174 1897
Loddon Mallee: Robert Lees – 03 5482 1599 | 0407 349 101 | Email Robert
North-East Victoria: Joan McRae – 03 5821 4459 | Email Joan
Port Phillip East: Di Paterson-   0400 961 052 | Email Di
Port Phillip West: Rob Coulson – 0407 535 116l | Email Rob
Tasmania: Graham Booth | Email Graham
Western Victoria: Daryl Pedler – 03 5562 8046 | 0428 738 001 | Email Daryl
Yarra Yarra: Hayley Rose – 03 9438 6843

equipping Leadership for Mission Representative (formerly CTM)
Lay Preacher Training – Mel Perkins
Phone: (03) 9340 8843 | Email Mel

Representatives to the National Lay Preachers’ Committee
LouAnne Stabb and Alastair Davison.
Rob Coulson and Joan McRae – (co-opted secretary)

Travelling LP Coordinator (not on the committee)
Mr Bruce Hill – (03) 9459 6112 | Email Bruce